Frances Penington and Molly Hadfield awards

Last updated: 5 September 2016

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Frances Penington and Molly Hadfield Awards. These awards publicly acknowledge an individual tenant, or a group of tenants, who contribute to their community.

Frances Penington Award

The Frances Penington Award celebrates an individual public or community housing tenant, or a group of tenants, who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution to their community.

The award honours the late Frances Penington who, as a Commissioner of the Housing Commission, was the first woman appointed to the board of a statutory authority in Victoria. She was also a strong advocate for women in housing estates and was active in building and supporting the tenant community and sparking community involvement.

See the previous Frances Penington award winners.

Molly Hadfield Award

The Molly Hadfield Award honours outstanding services to older tenants.

The award is named after the late Mary (Molly) Hadfield OAM, who was a dedicated advocate for public housing tenants. She was also a founding member of the Housing for the Aged Action Group, which formed in 1983.

See the previous Molly Hadfield award winners.

Nominate someone for an award

Nominations for this year's awards close on Monday 31 October 2016.

To nominate someone:

Send your completed nomination form:

  • By mail to: The Frances Penington Award
    Place Initiatives Unit (Level 12)
    Department of Health and Human Services
    PO Box 4057
    Melbourne 3001
  • By email: Email Place Initiatives with completed declaration and signature pages in PDF format.

More information

For more information about the awards:

Was this page useful?

Back to top